Cramping my style

Don't cramp my style, © Melanie Taylor | Dreamstime.com

I always liked this idiom.  It isn’t very frequently used anymore but is widely understood and but shows good command of the English  language.  If something cramps your style it means it limits or restricts you in some way, makes you hold back and not express yourself fully.  It is a casual expression but since it does not have bad connotations it can well be used in a business conversation.

Examples of usage are: “This new job at the bank is really cramping my style I have to wear a suit every day when I much prefer to wear shorts and sneakers.

or

“Those Monday morning 8 am meetings are really cramping my style.  I used to go out late every Sunday but now I can’t do that anymore.”

Tags: ,

One Comment to “Cramping my style”

  1. Neat blog layout! Very easy on the eyes.. i like the colors you picked out

Leave a Reply

