Fast fast

Doubling up on adjectives to make a point has become quite pervasive in spoken language.  I have to admit, although it sounds a bit teenagy to my ears I do do it myself on the not even so rare occasion.

"Mom, I am not really hungry hungry!" pic: the-parenting-magazine.com

Doubling up on an adjectives  is – together with a negation – often used to qualify the adjective, to indicate that a noun is described by that adjective but not overly so.  Ehm?

An example will help:

“Wow, cool new car.  I bet it is really fast.”

“Well, it is fast but nor really fast fast.  I don’t think I could do more than 100 mph even if I tried.”

Another:

“Are you hungry?” “Yes, sort of, not really hungry hungry, though.” – If my son says that to me before breakfast I know that 7 mini pancakes will be enough, 10 would be too much.  Only if he is “hungry hungry” will he eat 10 of them.

One last:

“Are you happy with your new job?” “Yes, but, honestly, I am not really happy happy, one of my coworkers is super-annoying.”

Leave a Reply

